Cancer Support Groups

Recently I have been lucky enough to visit a couple of Cancer Support groups in my area.

Firstly I visited the WAGS group in Wolverhampton, (Wolverhampton Area Gynae Support), who were most welcoming.  I spent time discussing some of their own personal issues as well as some of our current cases, where members of the group were able to help us with information and places to signpost our clients to.

The group meets in Wolverhampton monthly and would be happy to welcome and support others with Cancer of a Gynaecological nature. Please contact admin@wolvesgynae.org.uk  01902 763049, for more information on times and venue.

I then went on to meet the Burntwood Breast Cancer Care Group, who meet at Burntwood Library on the 3rd Wednesday Monthly.

The group only started 3 years ago and are proving to be a lifeline for those who are affected by Breast Cancer. The ladies were saying they felt this group was their own little family and could talk to each other about issues that maybe were too much for their close family. They spend time fundraising not only for themselves but for other worthwhile causes, they enjoy lunches out and generally spend time to talk to each other.

I was made to feel very welcome and would recommend for anyone to attend this group who feel they need that little extra support from people who have been through the same issues with Cancer.

Overall while attending both these groups it has inspired me to continue with setting up a support group in the Cannock area.  Currently there is no provision for any social time for people affected by Cancer, I am hoping to set a group up by October 2015.  If anyone would like to be involved please contact me:  caroline.bradford@bjf.org.uk  07467 915905.

Leave a comment